Connecticut DUI Law and Penalties
Connecticut DUI law and penalties
Each State in the United States is given the authority to write their own laws on Driving Under the Influence of alcohol, or better known as DUI. Within this article, we will explore the different DUI laws within the specific State of Connecticut, and their penalties. To begin with, there is what is known as a "Lookback Period" of ten years prior to the current DUI you are facing, any DUI's you may have are included in the relevancy of sentencing you are currently facing. This is also known as a "washout" period.
What constitutes a high BAC for a DUI in Connecticut?
- Under 21: .02%
- 21 or Older: .08%
- Commercial: .04%
There is never an acceptable time to drink and drive, as your vision, responses, along with your mental capacity to make quick and important decisions and judgments, are severely hindered and are not capable of bouncing back to what you are able to perform without alcohol in your system. Each person is different, and their tolerance level for alcohol is severely unpredictable making it impossible to say how many drinks are "normal" or not. This is what requires law enforcement to perform chemical testing on suspected DUI offenders. If you are pulled over and requested to take a chemical test to determine your BAC, or Blood Alcohol Content, Connecticut has an implied consent law. That means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. For refusal to take the chemical test, the penalties will be as follows:
- First Offense: 6 months license suspension
- Second Offense: 1 year license suspension
- Third Offense: 3 years license suspension
What are the penalties within the Connecticut DUI laws?
There are several penalties within the Connecticut DUI laws, and we will explore them in this section. Should you be pulled over and found guilty of Driving Under the Influence of alcohol within the boarders of the State of Connecticut, the following will be the consequences you will be facing:
Penalty of Jail:
- First Offense: 2 days up to 6 months
- Second Offense: 120 days up to 2 years
- Third Offense: 1 year up to 3 years
Penalty of License Suspension:
- First Offense: 1 year
- Second Offense: 1 year
- Third Offense: Permanent
Penalty of Ignition Interlock Device
- First Offense: No
- Second Offense: Yes
- Third Offense: N/A
It is important to note that laws often change, as well as their interpretation and application of them. Due to the fact that there are multiple jurisdictions within a State, and each may choose to enforce the laws in different ways, it is very important to prepare for the unexpected. For this reason it would be in your best interest to retain the services of an experienced and professional lawyer who is well versed in Connecticut DUI law, and is capable of giving you the direction you need for your specific case, along with being fully aware of the current laws pertaining to DUI.
Previous ArticleArkansas DUI Penalties