Idaho DUI penalties
Idaho DUI penalties and law
Each State within the United States is given the authoirity to write their own laws on Driving Under the Influence, or better known as DUI. Within this article, we will explore the different DUI laws within the State of Idaho and their penalties. To begin with, there is what is known as a ten year "Lookback Period", meaning that all prior DUI's become relevant to the sentencing you are now facing with your current DUI. This is also known as a "washout" period.
What constitutes a high BAC for a DUI in Idaho?
- Under 21: .02%
- 21 or Older: .08%
- Commercial: .04%
There is never an acceptable time to drink and drive, as your vision, reasoning, along with your mental capacity to make quick and important decisions and judgments are severely hindered and are not capable of bouncing back to what you are able to perform without alcohol in your system. Each person is different, and their tolerance of alcohol is severely unpredictable, making it impossible to say how many drinks are "normal" or not. This is what requires law enforcement to perform chemical testing on suspecting DUI offenders. If you are pulled over and are requested to take a chemical test to determine your BAC, or Blood Alcohol Content, Idaho has an implied consent law. This means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. For refusal to take the chemical test, the penalties are as follows:
- First Offense: 1 year license suspension and $250 fine
- Second Offense: 2 years license suspension and $250 fine
- Third Offense: 2 years license suspension and $250 fine
For each offense, if the defendant installs an Ignition Interlock Device on their vehicle, they may be eligible for a Restricted License that allows for driving to/from work/shcool.
What are the penalties within the Idaho DUI laws?
There are several penalties within the Idaho DUI laws, and we will explore them in this section. Should you be pulled over and found guilty of Driving Under the Indluence of Alcohol within the boarders of the State of Idaho, the following are the consequences you will be facing:
Penalty of Jail
- First Offense: Up to 6 months
- Second Offense: 10 days to 1 year
- Third Offense: 30 days to 5 years
Penalties and Fines
- First Offense: Up to $1,000
- Second Offense: Up to $2,000
- Third Offense: Up to $5,000
Penalty of License Suspension
- First Offense: 90 to 180 days
- Second Offense: 1 year
- Third Offense: 1 to 5 years
Penalty of Ignition Interlock Device
- First Offense: No
- Second Offense: Yes
- Third Offense: Yes
It is important to note that laws change, as well as their interpretation and application of them. Due to the fact that there are multiple jurisdictions within a State and each may choose to enforce the laws in different ways, it is important to prepare for the unexpected. For this reason, it would be in your best interest to retain the services of a professional and experienced lawyer who is well versed in Idaho DUI laws and is capable of giving you the direction you need for your specific case, along with being fully aware of the current laws pertaining to DUI.